What To Do When The World’s On Fire

Lean into your humanity

Luella Schmidt
5 min readDec 7, 2023

If you’ve been reading my America This Week series, you know that I follow current events closely. I try to use that interest to explain in simple terms what I see happening in our country and in the world.

Yes, the world is on fire right now. Things are dire. I’m wondering why no one is referring to this as WWIII yet, because I did back in February:

In that piece, I laid out what Putin has been up to — attacking democracies all over the world, using weaponized disinformation along with military weaponry to destroy people, families, and the institution of self-governance itself. Or, if not the outright instigator, he’s fanning the flames of another country’s tragedy.

Photo by rblfmr at Shutterstock

Israel and Hamas

Putin’s all up in this Hamas and Israel war. Putin hosted representatives from Hamas and Iran in Moscow after the terrorist attack in Israel. The Hamas attack was on Putin’s birthday. Hamas received millions of dollars through a Moscow-based crypto exchange on the eve of the attack. It is…

--

--

Luella Schmidt

Writer ✱ Creator ✱ Entrepreneur ✱ I write about history, politics, & justice ♥ and the Top 100 albums🎵, movies🎬, & novels📚 luellaschmidt.com ♥ Peace ♥